Alexander Schubert: Control (WP)

Ultima Oslo Contemporary Music Festival

Gamle Museet for samtidskunst – Nasjonalmuseet (Bankplassen 4), Oslo

21/9 17:00 + 22/9 13:00

German composer Alexander Schubert presents a new concert installation that drags audience members into a closed system of manipulation and surveillance. Control is a participatory experience which takes place in various spaces in the cellars of an old bank building Oslo.

Each presentation involves a small audience group and several members of the Decoder Ensemble. During any presentation, the audience moves through different phases dealing with different setups of control, surveillance and virtuality.

Control works on numerous levels: breaking down the barrier between public and performer; placing them in situations where virtual reality can be deceptive; and forcing a remote interaction between participants. Audience members become part of the mechanism of control, altering the subject matter but becoming complicit in a hierarchical system.


Decoder @ Festival Musica

20:30, 4.October.2018, Cité de la musique et de la dans, 1 Pl. Dauphine, 67076 Strasbourg, France

Decoder performs a portrait concert of Alexander Schubert’s works including F1, Point Ones, Sensate Focus and the world premiere of Acceptance at the Festival Musica in Strasbourg, France


Decoder plays „Never Sleeps“

21:00, 18.October.2018, Resonanzraum, Feldstraße 66, Hamburg

Exploring the works of kindred spirits from across the pond, Decoder features New York based composers in a concert dedicated to the city that „never sleeps“.

World Premieres from Tristan Perich, Dennis Sullivan and Erin Rogers as well as existing works from Natacha Diels, Sam Pluta and more!